The other sides’ view of the women’s march

 

This post is probably not going to sit well with some people. I won’t apologize for it. Yesterday I tried my hardest to stay off of social media, because I was quite aware of the onslaught of pink, va-jay-jay supportin’/trump-hatin’, sign-filled march photos that were filling my news feed. Unfortunately, I lack restraint when it comes to entertaining myself with others’ broadcasts of their lives, and found myself having to scroll through pages of play-by-play’s before getting to the posts I actually cared to see. I came across a status that read “I would much rather be an obnoxious feminist girl than be complicit in my own dehumanization” [The original quote is by Kathleen Hanna – a feminist punk icon]. Excuse me? Since when did not being a feminist mean I’m allowing the deprivation of my human rights?

I did not vote for Trump. [Nor did I vote for Hillary – but that’s a topic for another time]. I may not like the outcome of the election or most of Trump’s stances/opinions/Twitter updates. But when I scrolled through the photos, the status’s and the memes yesterday, I didn’t feel a sense of empowerment or unity …. I just felt sorrow. Millions of women, walking and preaching about their so-called “lack of rights” while simultaneously using the same tactics of the man they claim to hate, to name-call and belittle. You do not represent all women.

Never in my nearly twenty-nine years of life as an American, have I felt that my rights have been in jeopardy because I am a woman; that I didn’t have the opportunity to fulfill my goals and dreams, that I couldn’t worship, get an education or start a career because I am a woman. Any goal I have not accomplished, was merely the outcome of MY lack of perseverance – not because someone else told me I couldn’t. And as much as you think you had an impact on ensuring that right, you didn’t. We have Elizabeth Stanton/Lucretia Mott/Susan B. Anthony, our ancestors, and those who have been [and still are] in uniform protecting our freedom to thank for that.

If we were living in a country where we were no longer able to vote, give birth with proper medical care , get an education or hold jobs, then I would probably understand your reasonings. Fortunately we aren’t, so I don’t. I’m all for using our First Amendment right, people. Heck, you’re reading this post because we have the ability to do just that. However, I think it’s time we start putting our time and energy towards advocating for those who need it; our Vets, individuals with developmental/intellectual/physical disabilities, and those with mental illness. Because the way I see it, when you’re marching for a cause that has already succeeded, you’re running yourself in to a wall. Trump’s giant imaginary wall. And the only thing he’s going to do, is Tweet about it.

Leave a Reply

