Be stubborn about your goals, and flexible about your methods.

 

You guys! It has been over a month since my last post. Eeek. With a combination of work, illness, my birthday, and jam-packed weekends I feel like I haven’t had a second to catch my breath. But it’s a rainy Tuesday afternoon and I only had to work a half-day today (thanks out-of-town dentist appointment!), so here we are.

I can’t believe it’s the last day of February. Although it has been a whirlwind of a month, it also felt a bit mundane. Maybe it’s just the grayness of the winter months, but it never feels anything other than ‘blah’ from New Years to, well, May. Sure, there were a few rare warm, sunny days – but it’s Ohio – so it also snowed in same week.

I’m glad to report that I’ve been ‘Facebook free’ (yay!) for over a month; so that’s exciting. It’s amazing how just de-activating the account and removing the app from your phone can simply bring up your spirits. There was so much negativity. I would spend HOURS of my day sifting through it all just to find something that wasn’t political and depressing; it was ridiculous. Another positive: it has helped me stay connected to those closest to me in a world outside of social media. If I want to know what’s going on in someone’s life I have to call, text and/or schedule a time to meet up; I can’t just scroll through their page anymore. It’s fabulous. You should try it.

On a final note, future hubs and I spent some time after Christmas going Gluten-Free. No, we weren’t just joining the fad – the main reason was for digestive issues (not mine). After a colonoscopy and some blood work, he was told to eat gluten again  for a couple months until they are able to do an endoscopy and check for Celiacs. I mentioned our month was crazy, right? Going Gluten-Free wasn’t bad at all, it just took a lot more planning and checking of ingredients.

But, I must say .. I missed bread. And cake. And cookies. So, since we’ve been ordered to go back to our old foodie lifestyle for a couple of months, I figured I’d share one of our yummy gluten-filled dinner recipes from earlier this week. Try it out and let me know your thoughts! [We modified it slightly – but I found the original recipe from Pinterest, here.]

Meatball Sliders:

img_1672

[Photo: Feathered Flaws]

12 Slider buns
12 Italian (frozen or homemade) meatballs, cooked
2 c Traditional Pasta Sauce – any brand should work
2 c Mozzarella cheese, shredded
3 Tbsp Parmesan cheese
1 Tbsp Italian seasoning
2 Tbsp Olive oil

Preheat oven to 350°F. Place the bottom half of the slider buns in a 9×13 baking dish. Cook the meatballs in 2 cups of pasta sauce, on stovetop – medium heat, until warm. Place a meatball and a spoonful of sauce on each bottom slider bun. Cover the meatballs in mozzarella cheese. Place the top buns over the meatballs and brush them with a small amount of oil. Sprinkle the parmesan cheese and the Italian seasoning over the buns. Cover the dish with foil and bake for 10 minutes. Remove the foil and continue baking for another 10 minutes. Enjoy as a meal with a side of chips and a vegetable, or as an appetizer at a party!

Leave a Reply

